Poetry

Poetry Wednesday: “I’ve Lost My Hippopotamus” by Jack Prelutsky

I love  Jack Prelutsky. He has a great sense of humor and a master at playing with words. Here is a selection from I’ve Lost My Hippotamus  which is also the title of the poem I am sharing today. Please check out this collection and jack prelutsky at your nearest library!

I’ve lost my hippotamus,

The situation’s werid.

One minute she was next to me,

Then poof! she disappeared.

It’s hard to lose a hippo,

For a hipp’s truly huge–

I’m sensing something fishy,

Some unsavory subterfuge.

I’ve searched and searched with no sucess,

I’ve yet to find a clue

To her status or location,

I’m unsure of what to do.

If you spot a hippopotamus

Where usually there’s none,

Please let me know, the odds are good

You’ve found my missing one.

Leave a Reply

